GIVEAWAY: Look Back to Get Ahead

lookbacktogetahead

The end of the year always heightens my need for personal retreat time.  It is time to pause, step back, and look objectively at my work-life balance. It is useful and beneficial to get quiet and clear about what my intention is with my work.   It is imperative for me to pause, do a body scan, and make sure that I’m treating my own body well.   It is important to reflect on how I’ve used my creative talents and served my greater community.

Before you go thinking that I’m going to tell you to wander through the woods or take a spa weekend, let me be clear: a personal retreat does not have to be extravagant or expensive.

For me, personal retreat time does usually mean nature.  I have a park near my home where I like to go hiking, and it is during these quiet solo hikes that I can think clearly.  But sometimes it means simply locking myself in my bedroom in my PJs and slippers and taking some quiet time.  I think about the parts of my business that are working well and the parts that are chafing.  But most importantly I think about how I feel towards my work.  Is it still feeding me?  Am I still giving my clients my best self?  Does my family suffer because of my work?  I love to have time to free-associate and think of all the ways my work and life are flowing– and clogging.

But just as important as time for reflection is time for planning.  After all, if we don’t use the reflection for growth, it just becomes sappy nostalgia.

1227151057

I know I benefit from both the mental wave-riding of free thinking about my year as well as a more structured, guided reflection.  I have used the Leonie Dawson Shining Life workbooks for several years with great enjoyment.  They never fail to challenge me, even as I’m encouraged by all that is going well in my life.

I so believe in the power of reflection and planning to help you achieve your goals that I’m giving away a 2016 SHINING LIFE WORKBOOK.  I know that it will help you take stock of where you are now and map out where you’d like to be this time next year.  It’s not just for entrepreneurs, either– anyone can benefit from Leonie’s colorful, engaging, creative, and soul-stirring prompts.

1227151054b

As someone who promotes balance and wellness in all that I do, I want you to experience how good it feels to know where you are right now and know that you can get where you want to be.

It may feel luxurious to indulge in navel gazing, or it may feel like a waste of time.  Either way, it will be worth it.  If you can use what you have learned this year to plot out how you want to grow in 2016, you’re already bringing balance into your life.

If you just can’t wait to get started on this work (I know am the type!), use the button on the right ————> to order your own Shining Life or Shining Biz Workbook right now.  You can buy a .pdf copy of the workbook that will be sent to your inbox for you to start TODAY!

Well done, You!

GIVEAWAY:

1227151054

If you would like to be entered into the drawing for a Leonie Dawson 2016 SHINING LIFE WORKBOOK & WALL CALENDAR, leave me a comment that tells me one thing you learned in 2015 and one goal you have for 2016.

I’ll draw the winner at random at 10am Central time, Tuesday, 29th December, 2015.  The workbook & calendar will be mailed to the winner that day.

22 responses to “GIVEAWAY: Look Back to Get Ahead

  1. Something like this will help me this year! In 2015 I learned that it is ok to step way out of your comfort zone for your kids. With a little work and an open mind you can enjoy it and be successful. (Who would have thought I would enjoy coaching cheer).
    In 2016 I need time for me. I have spent the last two months figuring out how to find the time and I realized it is there, but I need to be organized first. Now I am spending the next week getting organized 😀

  2. one thing I learned – the importance of flossing – goal for 2016 – sadly admittedly, it’s similar to usual. work out regularly and take care of my body! these workbooks sound lovely!!

  3. 2015: learned to not try to plan too far ahead because you never know what today will bring.
    2016: to see more joy amidst suffering

  4. That story about the donkey in the well (farmer shovels dirt onto him, but instead of laying there defeated, chooses to “shake it off and step up” and ultimately walks out of the well) pretty much summarizes my past year: I practiced shaking off the dirt and took small steps forward and up. This coming year, my intention is to keep taking small steps forward, not necessarily out of self-preservation as per last year, but rather to find my own way. I’m going to take slow small steps, stopping along the way to actually take in the sights and give myself time and space to explore and even change direction if something shiny catches my eye.

  5. One thing I learned in 2015 – how little acts of kindness can mean the world to someone. Goal for 2016 – to get back into a workout routine and help my dad downsize

  6. Every day is a new day for working toward goals, indeed.

  7. In 2015 I learned that it is worth it to step outside your comfort zone and try something new. Also with an open mind and a little work it can be fun and successful.
    In 2016 I want more time for me. This will take organization and planning, but I am already starting the organization aspect 😄

  8. 2015 brought me many lessons, but the most challenging lesson is that I really need to learn how to relax a little better. Chilling out just does not come easy to this mother of two toddlers. I know that I’ll get an outcome whether I’m stressed or relaxed, but a relaxed journey will probably bring a better outcome than a stressed one. I’m going to seriously try to work on this in 2016, be it with MORE EXERCISE, learning better breathing tips, getting MORE SLEEP, or maybe just reading more parenting books. Trying not to get too worked up about little things is my 2016 goal.

  9. 2015: I’ve learned my attitude can change almost any situation – such a powerful thing!
    2016: Goal to keep a sense of self after I deliver baby number 3 next month!

  10. 2015: I learned about the importance of sleep. I watched a great TED talk that should scare anyone straight into prioritizing it in life.
    2016: I need to put the sleep lesson into practice.

Leave a Reply

