OnBalance Off-Balance

I recently met up with an old friend in London.  She’s one of those women I don’t see very often (you know, on account of our living on different continents), and I don’t even communicate with very often, but I always make sure we get together when I’m in London.  We first met in the late stages of pregnancy with our firstborns, and her son was born just one day after mine.  The boys are two peas in a pod, finding the same camaraderie and contented friendship that we mamas share.

I’m so grateful for my friend.  She’s also an awesome example of a person leading a fully-engaged life, enjoying the offerings of London while raising her two kids and working as a physician.  She has zero pretense and welcomes discussions about the challenges of balancing the many realities of life.  Anyone would admire her.

This lengthy (but heartfelt) preamble is necessary, as I need you to understand how surprised I was when she told me that she used to be a loyal OnBalance reader, but then the posts started making her feel inadequate.

Ummmmm, what?!?!?

Let’s review:

  • Super nice, absolutely genuine woman
  • Two bright, articulate, and entertaining children
  • Husband who is interesting and a delightful conversationalist
  • Medical doctor, committed to the well-being her patients in a way all of our doctors should be
  • Community advocate who volunteers in multiple capacities in her neighborhood and schools

What on earth does she have to feel inadequate about?

NOTHING!

Look, y’all.  We’re all different.  The way we choose to spend our time is all different.  If you are happy with what you’re doing, ROCK ON.  If you’re not, find someone who will support your efforts to make changes.  It’s worth it.

You’re worth it!

In the interest of full disclosure, there’s always another side to my stories.  There are usually multiple other sides to my stories.  Here are some of the “other sides” I can think of off the top of my head:

  • My husband, while he is mostly brilliantly supportive of my running, can sometimes feel marginalized by it.
  • My kids, who I try to raise with a spirit of curiosity and sense of mind-body balance, screw up and have meltdowns.  A lot.
  • I’m a yeller.  I can go foreeeeevvvveeeerrr being patient with my kids until WHAMMO I am no longer patient, and I start yelling.  I’m not proud of this.
  • My house is not a museum.  My house, while tidy, is not usually very clean.  And I don’t particularly care.
  • We often eat very simple meals.  Think “picnic.”  (That’s my fancy, parent-marketing way of saying “random leftovers and other stuff I pull out of the fridge.”)
  • Someone is always not getting enough attention.  Sometimes it’s me.

What I share here at OnBalance I choose because I like to focus on the positive.  I like to provide stories that may inspire others to make changes towards a healthier lifestyle.  I like to offer tips for creating family wellness.

But please know that me and my family are very much a work in progress, too.

If you’re ever in Austin, you’re welcome to come over for a gourmet dinner of baby carrots, string cheese, apple slices, and almonds.  I’ll even clear all the homework papers off the table so we can sit and eat together.  You’ll have to pretend I don’t stink because I ran in the morning but haven’t been able to take a shower all day.  NBD.

Good health and great happiness to you.

 

Leave a Reply

