Kudos to the Kitchen Kid

Last January, the greatest thing ever happened: my oldest kid took Culinary Arts in middle school.

Okay, maybe it wasn’t the greatest thing ever, but it certainly did change my life for the better in a real and meaningful way.

As someone who is committed to preparing fresh, healthy meals at home week in and week out, I know how exhausted many of you feel with the daily mealtime drudgery.  I mean, it’s like this family of mine needs to eat every.single.day.  And it’s not just the food prep and clean up that’s tiring; the meal planning is a job in and of itself.

In our home, we have the dreaded “Sunday Question,” which is: “What do you want to eat for dinner this week?” The way I figure it, if all five people in my family contribute a meal suggestion, I’ve just lightened the meal planning load I carry.  It also ensures that everyone will eat at least one meal without complaining.

It’s the little things, isn’t it?!

By cooking five meals per week at home, we have enough food for leftovers for lunch (both Mr. Balance and I work from home) and one other evening meal of leftovers.  This is our cost-effective way to eat as healthfully as possible.

Back to my kid….

When he took Culinary Arts last Spring semester, he learned not only practical kitchen skills, but he also got excited about helping to prepare family meals. He now fully prepares at least one meal a week by himself.  I’m usually around for him to ask questions, but as he has practiced his cooking skills, he needs me less and less.

0928151807a0810151848a

We’re now working on expanding his repertoire.  His favorite meal is a tuna, pasta and veggie bake, but he made that so much I had to limit it to every other week at most.  He’s been on a crustless quiche and fritatta kick lately.  I’m helping him feel more confident about veering off-recipe and finding the fun in cooking by combining flavors.

I could say that the best part about having a kid interested in cooking is the wonderful bonding experience it provides us.  Or I could tell you that the best part about having a kid interested in cooking is that he’s developing life skills that will serve him well once he leaves the nest.  But let’s be real: the best part about having a kid interested in cooking (and capable of doing it himself) is that I get a night off.

Of course, the look of satisfaction and pride on his face when his meal is ready, and he serves it up to his parents and siblings is pretty gratifying, too.

0928151834

Good health and great happiness to you!

Leave a Reply

