Trying a Tri

spagirl

It’s been at least 15 years since my first (and only) triathlon.  I don’t remember much about, other than I couldn’t get my shorts on over my wet swimsuit so I went without them.  Go ahead and imagine the chafing that caused…..

At the prodding of a friend, two other friends and I find ourselves registered for the Spa Girl Triathlon that will be held at the Hyatt Regency Lost Pines resort in September.  The friend who is the ringleader is someone I met way back in ealry 2009 when she came to my old early morning “bootcamp” class.  We wound up having baby girls just a month apart in 2011 and have been friends ever since. One of the other ladies has a daughter the same age as ours, and our fourth friend is a childhood pal of the ringleader.  We’ve developed a fun and supportive group friendship over the last few years that goes beyond our shared parenting trials.

Motivated by our ringleader’s enthusiasm to undertake the challenge of a triathlon, I’m ready to add it to my summer training plans.  Fortunately, the event is a Super Sprint Tri: 300m swim, 10 mile bike, 2 mile run.  This means that I feel fabulously confident about the run, satisfyingly confident about the bike, and not totally terrified about the swim.

(For as much as I love teaching swim lessons, I am a terrible lap swimmer.  What can I say?  I get bored.  So I don’t do it.  Shame on me.)

I have worked the swimming and biking into my training plan, but I won’t really be able to focus on them until August because of travel plans.  The other girls are using the Zoom Beginner Triathlon 60 day training plan as a guide.

We have a Facebook page where we’re sharing training ideas, logging workouts, and providing moral support.  There are three of us in Austin and one friend who just moved to San Antonio, so doing this together is a positive way to keep and grow our group friendship.

We aren’t worried that between the four of us we have only one triathlon of experience to lean on.  By September, the Tri Amigas are going to be on the course and ready to rumble!

(And then after the race, we’ll be ready to relax!)

Leave a Reply

