Throwback Thursday: My Prenatal Kriya Yoga Journey

pnkyretreat

Eighteen months ago, I wrote a blog post about beginning my journey of studying Prenatal Kriya Yoga.  I wanted to earn my certification to teach prenatal yoga, as I know how much a regular yoga practice helped me during my pregancies and labors.  I chose the Prenatal Kriya Yoga program for several reasons: 1) The emphasis on learning yogic philosophies in addition to asana made me feel like I was getting a thorough education, 2) The program is developed and lead by Camella Nair, a woman and yogi I respect and trust very much, and 3)  The arrangement of the program as home study plus a weekend yoga retreat in the Bay Area worked really well with my schedule.  The Kriya approach is ideal for someone like me– a busy wife and mother and entrepreneur– as it focuses on bringing yoga into “real life.”

I found the monthly study modules interesting, with topics ranging from auyerveda to family communication to creating community for women to the business of teaching yoga.  I admit to getting bogged down in the middle months about astrology, as it was like learning a foreign language for me.  But I plugged on, and in the end learned quite a lot about myself and my family.  Each month required about 10 hours of study on average, in a mix of reading, answering study questions, writing short essays, and listening to lectures by guest teachers, like Grace Kendrick who taught about the balance one can achieve through yoga and auyerveda.  It was certainly never boring!

This is not a program for someone who only cares about the physical arrangements of asana.  Each month had a different focus for asana, and in most months I was required to develop a series of asana for various stages of pregnancy or potential complications in pregnancy.  These practice sets will be useful when I teach prenatal yoga classes.  But they didn’t come together in a vacuum– each was informed by the monthly study theme.  It was a really good way to think about how body and mind are connected, never moreso than in pregnancy.

The program finished with a three-day yoga retreat in the hills outside of San Jose, California.  The retreat alone made the program worthwhile!  Imagine having this view as you enjoy a few days away from the stress of everyday home life:

pnkysite

 

In a comfortable room:

0410151314

And then add in yoga philosophy, music, and asana:

0412151007

And the company of beautiful people:

camellakaren

And one adorable dog:

0412150951a

Bliss!!

The retreat was like a breath of fresh air– a breath that I took in deeply, slowly, and intentionally.  And at the end of my retreat, I became a certified Prenatal Yoga instructor  (RYT eligible).

pnkycert

One more highlight: Camella’s business manager, Nancy, is a delightful, thoughtful person who she was attentive to my needs all throughout the program.  It is clear that Nancy is just as passionate about yoga as Camella is, and their enthusiasm and engaging natures made the whole experience– from home study to retreat– a real pleasure.

If you have ever considered studying yoga– even if you have no plans to teach yoga– I highly recommend the Prenatal Kriya Yoga program.

This review was not solicited.  All opinions are my own.  

Leave a Reply

