The Very Best Training Partner Ever

dennis5miler

2014 Dennis Road Race with me, my husband, his cousin, and his sister

 

People remark to me regularly that they’re amazed how much I do.  I always explain that the reasoning is two-fold: 1) I don’t sit still well, and 2) I have the best husband in the world.

(Insert sappy “awwwwwwww” here.)

It’s true, though.  Without the support of my husband, I’d not be able to do the work that I do or the training I love.  Because Balance Personal Fitness Training operates as an in-home training service in an effort to make exercise as efficient as possible for my clients, I often visit them during non-standard business hours.  Doing so requires a flexible partner who does his full 50% of parenting, much of it during the wee hours of the morning.  Packing lunches, walking and driving kids to school, and making sure everyone gets where they need to be on time is all part of his regular bag of tricks.

He’s also incredibly patient with the time it takes to train for road races I enjoy.  Marathon training, in particular, is an incredibly time-intensive process.  Having someone who encourages my training and picks up the slack on the home front when I’m pursuing my goals is such a blessing.

Perhaps the reason he understands my need for regular running and training so well is that he, too, is a runner.  In our pre-kids days, we used to run together quite often.  Now a quick 30 minute jog through the neighborhood is a real treat. We take turns entering races so that we’re not both on a strict training schedule at the same time.  This is our way of keeping balance between achieving fitness goals and keeping marriage and family a priority.  (Check out this Wall Street Journal article for an interesting note about the uptick in exercise regiments as a hot topic in marriage counseling.)  We look forward to the time when we’ll be able to train for the same race together again, as we believe that shared wellness goals are part of keeping our relationship healthy.

I tell my clients regularly that having a supporting partner is one of the most important components of a wellness program.  Having your significant other recognize the importance of your keeping fit– and honoring the time and money it takes to do so– is imperative.  Luckily for me, as of tomorrow I’ve been married to the very best training partner ever for fourteen years.

wedding

Good health and great happiness to you.

2 responses to “The Very Best Training Partner Ever

  1. Congratulations on your anniversary tomorrow, and I hope I find a kind of PT for free too 😉 xx
    https://lexilife95.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

