Aqua Yoga: FAQs Answered

0515141927

This post is the second in a weekly series regarding water and wellness.

It was nearly a year ago that I became certified to teach Aqua Kriya Yoga, and at that time I really didn’t have any idea what I was getting in to.  A year later, I’m pleased to say that I’ve gotten more out of aqua yoga– both personally and professionally– than any other aspect of my fitness business.  But there are a lot of questions folks ask about aqua yoga, so I thought I’d answer some of them here.

I had a knee replacement/vertigo/back surgery.  I can’t do yoga anymore.  Can I do Aqua Yoga?

Yes!  The water is the perfect environment for you to get reacquainted with your yoga practice.   Instructors are trained to modify postures for individual’s particular body needs.  The water allows you to attempt postures with confidence that you would not try on land.  The worst thing that happens is you get wet!

I’m a guy.  Will I be the only guy there?

Maybe.  But you won’t be the first guy to do Aqua Yoga.  You’ll just be smarter than the other guys who won’t try it.

Is this one of those classes that’s really only for old people and pregnant women?

No!  Aqua Yoga is a fantastic practice for anyone who is interested in improving their breath, their flexibility, and their focus.  Any person of any fitness level can improve her wellness through aqua yoga.

If it’s in the water, that must mean Aqua Yoga is really easy?

Ummm…not so much!  The challenges of the buoyancy of the water plus the instability created by the wind (if practicing outdoors) and other people practicing near you and moving the water adds elements to yoga postures that you don’t encounter in a mat class.

What’s the “Kriya” in Aqua Kriya Yoga all about?

Kriya is a volitional, intentional approach to yoga that is suited for anyone involved in everyday “real life.”  It is meant to encourage self-awareness within one’s current life, not in some ideal state separate from the responsibilities and relationships that make up life’s fabric.  In this way, I find the approach to yoga one well-suited for people who have no yoga background.

How do I become certified to teach Aqua Kriya Yoga?

Check out the Aqua Kriya Yoga website for all of their current offerings.  If there isn’t a training offered near you, email Nancy or Camella and let them know you’re interested.

 

Do you have another question I haven’t covered here?  Leave it in the comments, and I’ll answer right away!

See you off the mat and in the pool!

I offer Aqua Yoga classes in my Austin, TX backyard saltwater pool.  Classes are on Thursday evenings, 6.30-7.30pm through June, $10/class.  Email me at karen at balancepft.com if you have questions or would like a place in the pool!

Leave a Reply

