Family Fitness Bootcamp

0510141034

I’ve known for a long time that I live in a fantastic neighborhood.  There are so many reasons I love living where I do, but one thing I’d like to be better at is meeting more of my neighbors.

When my neighborhood association asked if I would lead a FREE Family Fitness Bootcamp at our local park, I said “yes” enthusiastically.  I thought it would be a great way to meet more local folks, teach parents how they can get in a good workout and spend time with their kids, and spread the joy of functional fitness.

We met for an hour on six recent Saturdays, and I had a different workout planned for each day.  Some weeks we used resistance tubes, some weeks we focused on cardio, and some weeks we did our workout using fitness equipment recently installed in the park by the neighborhood association and Parks & Rec Department.

Mostly, I tried to design workouts that would give adults a good workout while still holding the kids’ attention.  Also, the kids who participated ranged in age from 3-11, so I was dealing with a wide range of abilities.  I really enjoyed the challenge.

In the final class, I used an outdoor learning area in the park (in the shade!) for a circuit-style workout.  It combined both strength and cardio exercises.

One mom and her two daughters did triceps dips:

0510141037a

 

Another mom and her two sons did mountain climbers:

0510141037

And another mom and her daughter did rotational squats:

0510141037b

It was so much fun to see these families working out together.  Kudos to all the moms and dads who came with their little ones, setting a great example of fitting exercise into a busy weekend.  I hope everyone learned that a workout can be a fun way to spend time together.

Good health and great happiness to you!

 

Leave a Reply

