Water Bottle Blues

0420142121

This post is a total first world problem.  I’m not even going to pretend that it’s not.

But I’m a first world gal, gratefully so.  And I have a drinking problem.

No, not an alcohol problem, a water problem.  A problem with drinking water.  As in I don’t do it.  Not nearly often enough.

Honestly, for someone who talks about hydration a lot  and reminds other people several times a day how important it is to stay hydrated, I stink at doing it myself.

You see, I don’t have a thirst mechanism.  Or it’s so far broken that I don’t ever recognize or register that I’m thirsty.  I can go hours with nothing to drink.  And those hours will include exercise and eating– and I still don’t drink.  It’s not even that I don’t like water– I do!  I don’t really drink anything except water.  I just don’t often think of taking a drink.

Earlier this year I posted that I was going to try to get to the bottom of some nagging health issues.  One of those issues is a 20+ year battle with tinnitus– ringing in the ears.  I’ve had it for so long that it’s part of my ‘normal’ life, but in the last year or so it’s become really distracting and disruptive to my daily activities.  On the advice of an ENT, I’m having acupuncture to try to get some relief.  I was amazed when the acupuncturist asked if I have hydration problems.  She told me that in Chinese medicine, the ears and the kidneys are strongly linked.  Perhaps my chronic dehydration is one of the causes of my tinnitus.

At the acupuncturist’s suggestion, I’m making a concerted effort to drink more regularly.  Although I have always filled a water bottle at the beginning of the day to keep in my car and sip on between clients, I’m now trying to drain the bottle several times throughout the day.  And now that my water bottle and I are going to be besties, I’m looking for a good one.

That’s where you come in.  What type of water bottle do you have that you like?  I’m looking for something at least 24 ounces and prefer something with a flip top or sport top.  No BPA plastic, and I’m a bit unsure of how a stainless steel water bottle would fare kept in a car in Austin during the summer.  Any ideas for me?

I’ll be back in another few months to report how the acupuncture works in regard to my tinnitus.  I’m happy to take whatever health benefits I can derive from the acupuncture, and if it can help lessen the annoying ringing in my ears I’ll be incredibly grateful.

Good health and great happiness to you.

3 responses to “Water Bottle Blues

  1. I love my multi-drink nalgene. It was only 11 bucks and has a pivoting straw which means I can use it for water or juice. Plus, it is professional looking so I don’t look silly with it at the office. Good luck in your water search! SO important!

Leave a Reply

