The Search for Something New

sidebar-1

I wrote last week about some challenges I’ve faced this winter keeping my training on track.  I’ve really been missing my regular runs.  Because I’ve been limited to working out indoors (which is NOT my preference!), I’ve been doing the Balance Virtual Bootcamp workouts.  They have reminded me that having more structured strength-training in my overall workout plan is a good thing.  But even though I design the workouts myself and know that they are both efficient and effective, I can also admit that this isn’t my favorite format for exercise for me.  Sure, it gets the job done, but it doesn’t give me the same mental boost that I get from running or working out with a group.

A few years ago, I went to some pilates classes at a local gym, and I really liked them.  This is unusual for me, as I normally find myself staring at the clock every two minutes or so.  Remembering that I thought the instructors were quite good (also unusual, in my experience), I decided to go back.  I’ve been going to pilates two times a week for the last few weeks, and I’m really enjoying it.  I think it dovetails nicely with the more regular yoga practice I’ve cultivated since starting the Prenatal Kriya Yoga teacher training course last fall—I’m really feeling a shift in my focus that allows me to tune in to my alignment, breath, and whole body.

I’ve been through enough phases of my life and worked with enough people who struggle to find exercise they enjoy to know two things:

1)      There IS something out there for you.  Keep looking for it!  If you hate to run, DON’T RUN!  If you don’t want to spend much time exercising, BE READY TO SWEAT AND WORK HARD.  If you think you’ve tried everything and still don’t love anything, ask your friends (or crowdsource your Facebook friends) what their favorite type of exercise is.  Certainly you’ll learn something new.

2)      Don’t feel like you have to do the same thing forever.  It’s perfectly okay to have exercise ADD.  Want to train and run a 5K in a few months and then not run at all during the summer?  Fine!  Want to take an 8-week intensive flying trapeze course, but that’s all you can afford?  No problem!  So long as you do something consistently, it doesn’t really matter what it is.  Just keep moving!

And always keep in mind that this whole process is more about the journey than the destination.  Enjoy what you’re doing while you’re doing it, and when you’re ready to make a change, embrace the opportunity to try something new.  It’s such a gift.

Good health and great happiness to you!

PS- What’s the weirdest type of exercise you’ve tried and loved?  It just may be what someone else is looking for!

Leave a Reply

