Lifelong Learning

2013-10-15 17.23.55

 

This fall I began a Prenatal Kriya Yoga certification course after having such a positive experience studying Aqua Kriya Yoga with Camella Nair.  Kriya is a yogic tradition rooted in mysticism, but it’s focus is on how yoga is practiced by householders– regular people like you and me who have jobs and partners and kids and a million things we have to do each day.  We are definitely ‘in’ the world.

My certification course is broken up into nine months of home study (appropriate for someone focusing on serving prenatal women) and will culminate with a retreat in the Bay Area for our hands-on practical assessments.  I’m certainly looking forward to that intensive time to learn and teach.  In the meantime, I’m enjoying finding ways to incorporate my study into my everyday.

On Tuesdays, my boys take piano lessons at UT-Austin that, while a wonderful opportunity, require me to hang out for two hours.  I use some of this time to chat with my boys one-on-one (precious time in a ‘zone defense’ parented family), eat dinner with them, and shepherd them through their homework.  I decided that it would be a good lesson for them to see me studying, too.

Now every Tuesday, I pack up the cooler with our dinner and my bookbag with my Prenatal Kriya Yoga book and study binders.  After each boy eats and we chat a little bit, we both get down to our homework.

One of the funniest times was when The Bear showed me the math homework he was doing.  We both got a chuckle out of question #3:

2013-10-15 17.35.05

I told him that not so long ago, there is no way a word problem about a child practicing yoga would have been on a mainstream public school worksheet.  Part of the reason I am studying to teach prenatal yoga is because more and more people are understanding the benefits it brings for both body and mind.

And then, because I don’t care much what people think about me, and I want my children to develop this sense as well, we got onto the floor of the music building and practiced some asanas together.  We use yogic breathing techniques a lot in our family (even if the husband and kids don’t realize they’re yogic!), and my kids never fail to be comforted and calmed by them.

Being a lifelong learner is exciting.  I have no idea where I’m going on the path of life, but I sure am having a great time getting there.

Good health and great happiness to you!

 

One response to “Lifelong Learning

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursday: My Prenatal Kriya Yoga Journey | OnBalance

Leave a Reply

