Balance Virtual Bootcamp FAQs

button

 

Last week I told you that TODAY kicks off the “Healthy for the Holidays” round of Balance Virtual Bootcamp.  I’ve received some interesting questions, so today’s OnBalance will clarify a few things:

I’m out of shape.  Are these workouts going to be too hard for me?

No!  The workouts are designed to be done either for a certain amount of time or for a certain number of repetitions, so the intensity is self-adjusting to your individual fitness level.  People who are very fit can push themselves harder, and people who are just starting an exercise routine can benefit from doing their best.  The workouts are based on the idea of circuit training, which is a popular and effective exercise design method.

I don’t have a gym membership.  Can I do these workouts at home?

Yes!  Balance Virtual Bootcamp is designed to be done at home.  You need only a small amount of floor space and some simple, easy-to-find equipment.

How much money do I have to spend buying equipment?

It depends.  I suggest you have a set of lightweight dumbbells (5lbs for beginners, 8lbs for more advanced participants) and a set of heavier dumbbells ( 10lbs or 12-15lbs, depending on your fitness level).  You also need a resistance tube.  These items can be purchased inexpensively at many stores, or you can check sports resale shops for used equipment.  Check your local CraigsList or Freecycle– weights are often given away by people who don’t want to pay to move them to a new home.

I’m not in the US.  Can I still participate?

Yes!  Balance Virtual Bootcamp has had participants from the US, UK, Malaysia, Singapore, and Venezuela.  Regardless of where you are in the world, you’ll receive your workout email by 6am on YOUR Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.

I fall off the exercise wagon easily.  How will Balance Virtual Bootcamp motivate me?

The private Facebook page is a great way to connect with other participants.  I post questions and challenges to the Facebook page to keep everyone engaged in the program.  Also, there is a $100 cash participation prize awarded at the end of Balance Virtual Bootcamp, and staying on top of the workouts and reporting your results increases your odds of winning.

I have three kids, six cats, and two jobs.  Do I really have time to follow Balance Virtual Bootcamp?

Absolutely! If you’ve read OnBalance before, you know that I am a realist.  I wanted to design a workout program that is achievable for busy people.  This means that most of the workouts can be done in 30 minutes, warm up and cool down included!  You have to be willing to work hard for those 30 minutes, but you can absolutely get a high-quality, effective, and invigorating workout in a very small amount of time.  And because you don’t need a lot of equipment or floor space, these workouts are easy to do in front of the TV or with kids playing nearby– that’s how I do them!

Balance Virtual Bootcamp “Healthy for the Holidays” kicks off TODAY!  Join us for EIGHT weeks of three-times-per-week workouts, and close out 2013 healthy and happy!

It’s not too late to register and get all of the emails from the beginning!

And if you still have questions, leave them in the comments.  I’ll get right back to you.

Good health and great happiness to you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

