Back to School

The Bear is off to 5th grade and the Monkey goes to 2nd grade

The Bear is off to 5th grade and the Monkey goes to 2nd grade

Sing it with me, “It’s the most! wonderful tiiiiiiime of the year!”

Why is that lyric in a Christmas carol?

I’ve always found it more appropriate for back-to-school.

It’s not that don’t love the lazy days of summer, with their spontaneous adventures and endless goofing around among the children….it’s just that back-to-school holds so much promise.

All the perfectly-sharpened pencils.  All the new activities: school chorus, piano lessons, soccer practice.  All the hope of growing and learning and being back together with friends.

I know I’m blessed that my kids are so excited to go back to school.  I know I’m blessed that they go to a public school with fantastically dedicated and talented teachers.   I know I’m blessed that after five years at this school, I am part of a community of thoughtful, caring families who actively make our school and neighborhood a better place to live.

It can be a bumpy few weeks, as we all get used to the new routines for sleeping and eating and activity.  But it’s also a time to reframe priorities and make sure self-care is on our schedules.  I, for one, am looking forward to catching up with some friends and being able to converse with them without being constantly interrupted.  I know my friends are also summer-spent and in need of some girlfriend time.

For those of you who are also in the back-to-school transition, I wish you the best.   Go out there and get ’em, kids.

 

Leave a Reply

