Product Review: Hamilton Beach Single Serve Blender

Image

 

A few weeks ago, I posted about my love for green smoothies.  Because I had come to rely on the nutrition and energy boost in my morning smoothie, I wasn’t looking forward to going on vacation and leaving my daily breakfast behind.  Of course, I also wasn’t necessarily interested in spending a lot of money on a new blender just for smoothies for a month.

I did some research, and if you’ve ever done research about blenders you’ll know that this is a product people take very seriously.  I did my due diligence on Amazon.com, and I wound up purchasing a Hamilton Beach Single Serve Blender.  I’ve been using it almost daily for three weeks now, so it’s time for a review.

All in all, this is a great product.  I like that I can make my smoothie in the same cup I drink it in.  Easy cleanup is always a plus!  I’m impressed with the strength of the motor– my smoothies include spinach, frozen berries, greek yogurt, and bananas.  This little blender is able to tackle the frozen berries and very full cup with no problems.  I also like that this cup has a 16oz (plus) capacity, because I tend to fill my smoothies to the tip top every time. 

I haven’t experienced the smoking smell that some of the Amazon reviewers noted.  To avoid this, I’ve been careful to pulse the blender rather than run it continuously.  The motor shows no signs of losing power, and in fact it blends the smoothie in about 15-20 seconds– much faster than I would have anticipated.

My only complaint is that the base of the blades inside the cup seems to stain easily.  Of course, I’m using berries and spinach, so staining should be expected.  I just like to know that the cups are clean, and it’s hard to tell by eyeballing it.

If you travel often, I recommend this blender.  It’s been a great way for me to start my day with 4 servings of fruit/veg and 10 grams of protein, all for about 200 calories.  And it’s mighty tasty, too!

 

Leave a Reply

