Summer Fruits

One of my favorite things about summer is the wide variety of fresh fruits that are available and the affordable price point at which I can purchase them.  Because I try to eat seasonally, my summer sweet treat is usually fruit– I just can’t get enough of it.

I just counted, and I have 14 varieties of fruit in my house right now:

apricots, apples, bananas, grapes, watermelon, plums, pears, cantaloupe, cherries, blueberries, strawberries, blackberries, pineapple, plums

Granted not all of these fruits are at peak in the summer, but that kind of variety allows even the pickiest eater to find a taste he likes.  Fortunately for me, my kids are fruit bats.  My problem is keeping fruit in the house that doesn’t get eaten in one day!

But the other thing I like about summer fruit?  It’s so pretty.  Just sitting there in the bowl, it offers all kinds of visual and nutritional goodness.   Fruit comes in all colors of the rainbow, packing a nutritional punch of antioxidants and vitamins.  It’s easy to pack for summer picnics and a choice like watermelon serves a crowd very inexpensively.

I try to buy organic when I can, especially for the dirty dozen.  Knowing that I am reducing the amount of pesticides in the earth (and my digestive tract) is worth the extra expense.  If I can find these delectable treats at my local farmers market, it’s even better!

What’s your favorite summer fruit?   Is there a  summer fruit you think more people should know about?

Leave a Reply

