Resource Review & Giveaway: Moms In Charge

If you’ve ever felt alone in the world of parenting when trying to raise your family in a wellness-conscious way, I’d like to introduce you to Moms In Charge.  This web-based non-profit has a threefold plan of action.  Moms In Charge is about being a:

  • COMMUNITY of moms who have a safe place to explore healthier options and begin to make the changes needed but not always accepted and begin teaching our kids by example how to make THEIR OWN healthy choices.
  • RESOURCE for moms who are searching for ways to give their kids the BEST chance of living healthy, vibrant lives.
  • MOVEMENT for moms to become EMPOWERED with information of what is in our food and products so we can make the MOST informed decisions and TRANSITION to a healthier, vibrant life with our kids to ultimately: Change the shape of the future.

The website is a resource that helps set out a path for healthy living.  While there are free resources on the sites– the blog has loads of useful links– Moms In Charge is a membership site.  The best resources it provides– including recipes and a forum for sharing experiences and gathering support– are exclusive to paid members.

I had the opportunity to look behind the scenes a this membership-only content, and for the most part I liked what I found.  The recipes offer good variety and are really well categorized so I could find what I wanted quickly.  Do note that as a proponent of eating natural foods, some of the recipes on the site include ingredients you may not have already in your home (such as tempeh) or require kitchen gadgets that you don’t own (food dehydrator).  That said, all of the recipes align very well with the goal of the website, making it easy for someone who wants to make these dietary changes.

As I read further into the MIC O.N.E. approach (Organic – Nourishing – Energizing),  I became a bit uneasy with some of the nutritional information presented.  I know I am not a Registered Dietician, and I work only within the parameters of a professional certified personal trainer.  That said, I do a lot of reading and research regarding nutrition and wellness.  I find it troubling that recommendations like “transitioning to gluten-free is a key element for optimal overall health” and “pork is not recommended” are made with no scientific justification.  These guidelines are far too broad-reaching for a general population.  I do admire the goal of eating fewer toxins for better health and eating foods that are responsibly cultivated.

The website is easy to use and is laid out in a pleasant design.  I played around on it for quite a while, easily navigating between the different areas and enjoying the content.  My only complaint is that the posting frequency could be more often to keep content fresh.

Now here’s where this review gets good for you!  Leave a comment on this post to be entered into a drawing for a FREE one-month membership to Moms In Charge.

And a BONUS if you’re in Orange County– there are Moms In Charge events in your area.  It’s always nice to find your tribe, so know that there may be other people with intentions and goals like yours out there looking to strengthen their personal network.

Disclosure:  The Moms In Charge gals contacted me to see if I’d review their site.  In exchange for an honest review, they gave me a month-long membership to MIC.  They also donated a month-long membership for the giveaway mentioned in the post.  

15 responses to “Resource Review & Giveaway: Moms In Charge

  1. Interesting! Glad to know a site like that is out there, there is a lot of strength in community

  2. One-stop shopping is always a plus.

  3. Great review! Sounds like an interesting site.

  4. Looks like a great place for sharing information.

  5. I’m a member of Mom’s In Charge and it has made a HUGE difference in my life! I’m so glad that I’m not alone in my healthy endeavors. They are so supportive and helpful! Everyone is very nice and no one ever looks down on anyone for not being “good enough”. We are all on a journey to better our lives and our health. We just want to do what’s best for our families. The benefits just in friendship of people with similar goals in life are worth it but to top it off, all the other resources and discounts and GREAT recipes and health information! Professional health experts are always giving advice and speaking at events. I love how it’s not just healthy eating, but the spiritual, the physical, and emotional aspects as well. GREAT GROUP! SO WORTH the small amount of money it costs to be a member.

  6. So is it primarily diet-centric, or does it talk about ways to exercise as a family? that’s what I need more of!

    • There are some ideas for exercising with your kids in the blog and article secions. There’s also interesting info about reducing the toxicity of health & beauty products you or your family may use.

  7. Nice site. I like idea of being able to converse with like-minded folks…

  8. I think it is very empowering for all mothers

  9. I’m in OC! I’m in OC! I need a mom to take charge of my life. Lol.

  10. I’m always eager to find more resources for healthy family living, so I’m glad to read your review of this site. Looks like a good one!

  11. ANything to make my life easier!!

Leave a Reply

