Summer Set Up: Snacks

2013-05-16 15.05.32

If you’re counting down until school lets out and your kidlets are home for the summer, it’s time to start thinking about how you’ll answer the regular plea, “Mooooommmmm, I’m hungry!”

I have a few ideas to share today.

First up, yogurt pops.  If you live in a hot climate, or even if you just like to pretend you live in a hot climate, cold snacks are a must-have for summer.  Yogurt pops are easy to make:  simply blend any combination of 2-3 cups of your favorite fruits (and vegetables!) with a cup of greek yogurt (add a bit of water if necessary for blending), pour into popsicle molds, and freeze.  Kids love to help choose the flavor combinations– my oldest keeps careful records of what he likes and doesn’t like– and throw the foods into the blender.

As you see in the photo above, my taste testers take their job very seriously.  The yogurt pops shown are a kale, strawberry, orange, non-fat plain greek yogurt variety.  (To be honest, they got a ‘Yum But Not Your Best Creation Ever’ rating.)

My big kids use Groovy Ice Molds which hold about 1/2 cup each.  That’s a sizeable treat, and the way the holder is shaped keeps it from dripping in case someone doesn’t eat it fast enough.  For my daughter, I use push-up pop type molds– these are by Norpro and are BPA-free silicone.  If we want to take yogurt pops to share with friends at the park, I have used Zipzicles— this genius idea is simply a go-gurt shaped baggie.  While they work great if you want a throw-away option, I have not had good luck washing and reusing them like the company suggests is possible.

Another favorite snack around here is cottage cheese pancakes.  I can make a big batch of them rather quickly, and they keep well in the fridge.  My kids will eat them cold, though I suggest warming them in the microwave.  Sometimes we give them a little schmear of preserves or peanut butter.  The best part is that even my carbaholic middle kid thinks that he’s getting away with a real treat by eating these.

Living in a hot climate means I need portable snacks that can stand being left out for a few hours.  Usually this means trail mix.  I put out a variety of options– multigrain cheerios, cashews, almonds, pistachios, raisins, dried blueberries, sunflower seeds, shredded coconut– and let my kids each make their own mix.  Not only do they like choosing  the proportions of their mix, but it absolves me any responsibility when they later claim they hate their snack.

(This happens to you, too, right?!)

How do you keep your kids’ tummies happy and healthy during summer break?

The product reviews included are my honest opinion.  I was not asked to review these products, nor did I receive any compensation for doing so.

Leave a Reply

