Checking In

Just a little post today to see who is paying attention.

(I used to love starting a class with that phrase– sub QUIZ for POST– back when I was teaching college.)

Anyone running the Joggermom Marathon this month?  I told you about it a few weeks ago.  If you’re running, I’d love to hear from you– leave a comment below.  I’ve been running along….15.5 miles so far.  That’s not nearly as much as I normally run in two weeks, but I’ve been busy.  What have I been doing, you ask?

I’ve been in the pool!  My swimming lessons are nearly completely booked through the middle of July.  I’m down to one 20-minute lesson slot remaining, but I’ll happily put you/your child on my waiting list and contact you if I have a cancellation.

Several of my recent mornings have been spent at my boys’ school, where I’m putting my NASP archery instructor certification to good use. I’ve been helping the PE coaches teach archery to 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade students.  Can I tell you how much fun this is?  It’s TOTALLY fun!  To see the faces of the kids as they successfully hit the target is such a thrill.  To hear them encourage each other as they try this new activity is even better.  The highlight so far was one not-so-athletic kid’s reaction: “Who knew I was such a great archer!?”

I’ve also been working on my new venture EQUIP Fitness Business Development.  I’m getting all of my amazing content into a deliverable format, and I’m so excited about opening up enrollment in September.  If you or someone you know is interested in working as an independent fitness professional– a personal trainer, swim teacher, yoga instructor, etc– please send this info on to them.

My own training is about to ramp up.  I’ve applied for the lottery of the Falmouth Road Race, one of the longest-running road races in America.  It’s been on my racing radar since my Boston days 15 years ago, and it looks like I’m finally going to be on Cape Cod for this year’s run.  Crossing my fingers I get a place!

And then there’s the reality of my mom life……

In one week, I am babysitter-less for three weeks while our family’s beloved sitter goes off and gets herself married.  She’ll return to be my right-hand gal for the rest of the summer thank goodness!

But it’s three weeks until my boys are out of school.  Next week’s posts will be about how I’m preparing to take care of THEM and ME this summer.

Who will share whether they are EXCITED FOR summer vacation or TERRIFIED of having the kids home all day?  Go ahead and leave me a comment about it.  Your secret is safe with me.

Good health and great happiness to you.

Leave a Reply

