Superfast Shrimp Stirfry

Ohmygoodness did my kids have the Friday afternoon crabbies yesterday.  It started with The Stowaway crying when we went to pick up her brothers from school– normally her favorite activity of the day.  And when we got to school, The Bear was a mess.  

“Listen to me!”

“I want candy for a snack!”

“Why is it so windy and cold?”

And on and on and on.

Throw in one fantastic meltdown from The Monkey at 4.30, and I knew it was going to be a long evening.

Thankfully, my meal plan for the week included a simple supper.  I’m no fool.  I know Fridays are chaos.

Here’s what I did that was prep-to-plate in 15 minutes.

First, I gathered my gourmet ingredients.

Image

 

That’s right.  It’s not always gourmet around here.

I got the water boiling for the rice and threw two bags in the pot.  I set the timer for 10 minutes.

Then I got out my wok (any large skillet would do), turned up the heat, and put about a tablespoon of olive oil in it.  

I put a pound of shrimp in a colander in the sink and ran cool water over them.

When I had 7:00 left on the timer, I dumped one bag of veggies into the wok.  After two minutes, I dumped the other bag of veggies in.  Stir, stir, stir.

When I had 2:00 left on the timer, I added the shrimp and about two tablespoons of sauce.  Stir, stir, stir.

I did end up adding about a tablespoon of cornstarch (pre-mixed in cold water) to the wok to thicken up the sauce right at the end.

At the end of the rice’s ten minutes of cooking, I had a giant wok of stirfried shrimp and tons of vegetables.  Super easy.

Image

 

I put a little brown rice into each bowl and topped it with the stirfry.  Not only did I make dinner in 15 minutes, but I got my kids to eat a variety of vegetables they don’t normally eat.

Friday night Mom victory!

 

Leave a Reply

