Help Hali Help Pets!

The main reason I am able to have a well-balanced life of work that I enjoy while still having lots of time at home with my kids is because of the excellent caregiver who is like family to us.  Our sitter Hali Pickard has been with our family for over a year, and hearing her knock on the door three mornings each week sends my daughter into a fit of glee.  The Stowaway loves Hali, and the time they spend together is filled with books and walks and trips to the park and all kinds of good things.  Knowing that my daughter is being cared for by a loving person allows me to give my clients my full attention.

Hali is a graduate student at UT, and she’ll be finishing her Masters in Early Childhood Education in May.  In addition to her school and working with our family, Hali set herself the goal of running the Austin Marathon this Sunday.  It has been fun for us to talk training over the last six months.  She has gone from a very casual runner into a well-trained distance runner.  I know she’s going to have a great race on Sunday.

Hali is running the marathon as part of Team Spiridon, one of the 26 Miles for 26 Charities sanctioned organizations.  She is fundraising on behalf of Austin Pets Alive!, a local no-kill animal shelter.  Hali has adopted a dog from Austin Pets Alive!, and her love for her pet is just another demonstration of her caring and nurturing personality.

If you would like to learn more about Team Spiridon or make a contribution to Hali’s fundraising efforts, here’s a link to her personal fundraising page.  I have never before promoted a fundraising cause on my blog before, but I am so grateful for the contributions that Hali has made to our family life by being a loyal, responsible, and loving caregiver that I wanted to help her out.

At the very least, please think strong and persevering thoughts for Hali on Sunday as she runs her first marathon.  And, yes, she gets Monday off of work to recover.

One response to “Help Hali Help Pets!

  1. I just found your blog and was excited to read about your running endeavors. I was even more excited to see this! I can’t believe I didn’t know you posted it at the time! Thank you! I miss talking over runs with you! especially now that everything seems to always be aching. I’m not that old right 😉

Leave a Reply

