12 for ’12

As the year draws to a close, I like to think of all the gifts and growth I’ve experienced.  For 2012, I am particularly grateful to be in a place of  well-balanced contentment, with a good deal of joy sprinkled within.

1. I am grateful for my husband.  In big and small ways, he adds balance to our marriage and our family.  We are quite opposite in personality, yet we work toward our common goals really well.

2. I am grateful for the health of my children.  Even in a year that involved a visit to an urgent care and an ambulance ride that ended at the ER (both for The Monkey), my children are in very good health.

3. I am grateful for adventure.  I started this year in London with my husband and kids, spent a week in Barbados with my extended family, and took our first-ever n0-kids trip to Buenos Aires this fall.  Exploring our vast and varied world is one of my passions, and visiting Barbados & Argentina were both new-to-me locations.

4. I am grateful for work that allows me to get to know people who are not only interesting and kind but who are also just plain fun.  To walk on the wellness journey with others adds so much positive energy to my life.

5. I am grateful for finally finding excellent childcare.  Knowing that a reliable, loving person is with my daughter while I work allows me to be fully present with clients.

6. I am grateful for the growth in my swimming lessons.  Last summer I worked with 57 children, age 22 months to 14 years old.   Some kids were scared; some kids were eager.  To witness their confidence soar as they learn to swim is always a thrill.

7. I am grateful for my boys’ elementary school.  My boys love school and have no idea how lucky they are.  But I do, and I am humbled and awed by how hard their teachers work each and every day.

8. I am grateful for my girlfriends, near and far.  For the friends here in Austin who I see regularly (and for those who I see way too infrequently), I am blessed with people I admire.  For my friends across the country and the world, I am a lousy phone-caller and reacher-outer, but I think of you often and am grateful for the experiences we’ve shared.

9. I am grateful for the internet.  I’ll even go so far as to say I’m grateful for Facebook.   You either agree with me or will mock me, so I won’t say anything else.

10. I am grateful for my renewed interest in running.  Many of my runs in the spring were with a friend who was going through a divorce; I spent the fall training for two races in which I did pretty well.  Running is cheap therapy.

11. I am grateful for knowing how to cook.  I gave myself the challenge of trying a new recipe every week; although I didn’t quite meet that goal, I did try quite a few new ones, many of which are now in regular rotation.  Getting my kids involved in meal preparation is important to me, so that they can know the satisfaction that comes from making healthy food.

12. I am grateful for the balance in my life.  To be able to do work I enjoy that still leaves time for me to be the primary caregiver to my children– not to mention going to the school plays, the class parties, the special lunches, and to work from home while my husband works in the adjacent room….it’s a blessing.  And for this work to provide us a life that is full of family, food, travel, and daily fun is really more than I deserve.

Good health and great happiness to you in 2013!

 

Leave a Reply

