Pre-Wedding Workout

Want to know why I love what I do?  Because I get to hang out with awesome people who are funny, kind, and recognize the importance of taking care of themselves.  Sometimes these people also have creative ideas, and I’ve been known to embrace a creative idea every once and again.

You see, I have a friend who lives many states away, and I don’t get to see her but once a year or so.  Her younger sister, however, lives here in Austin, and like many Austinites is a health & fitness junkie.  Big sister decided that it would be awesome to kick off lil’ sis’s day-long bachelorette party with a group workout.  She contacted me and asked if I would lead a workout for the bridal party, and I was intrigued.  I’ve taught lots of group classes before, but never one for an event like this.  We banged out the details of date and time and agreed the grounds of the State Capitol– one of the bride-to-be’s favorite places in town– would work well for our pilates-inspired workout.

Pardon me for a moment while I squeal like a girl, but ohmygosh were these ladies fun!  They were totally game for the workout, the exercises in which were easily modified to suit the range of fitness levels in the group.  The ladies got in a good workout, had a few laughs along the way, and honored their dear friend/sister by joining in and doing something that she loves.

Thanks to my friend for contacting me and suggesting this great idea.  And here’s wishing the new Mr & Mrs years of happy, healthy wedded bliss.

Leave a Reply

