Re-balancing

I can blame the radio silence here at onbalance only on myself. With the start of the new school year, I seem to have taken on a few too many roles. Even though the discreet roles are worthwhile and fulfilling, the collective responsibilities I’ve been shouldering have led me to feeling busier and more rushed than I like.

On a day-to-day basis, I’ve found myself enacting three simple habits to keep my focus and sanity:

1. Breathe– Every time I sit down (which isn’t very often), I roll my shoulders up, back, and down as I take a deep inhale. I then exhale fully. I repeat this process until I no longer feel like I’m going to jump out of my skin. Breathing is extremely powerful, even for those of you who find this idea a bit high on your woo woo scale.

2. Eat well– When I eat like crap, I feel like crap. It’s so simple, but it’s so true. When I pay attention to nourishing myself with fruits and vegetables and hydrate well, I feel better. Eating on the go doesn’t have to mean processed foods. An apple, a cheese stick, a hard-boiled egg, and a bottle of water are all quicky, healthy, and extremely portable.

3. Practice Saying “No”– Obviously, I’m not very good at this, or else I wouldn’t be writing this post! I love what my friend Renee Trudeau has to say about learning to decline requests with grace, and I’m practicing each of the methods with a smile. There are multiple times every day when someone presents me with an opportunity, and I need to evaluate it carefully and commit myself only to those things that speak most directly to me.

Stopping to reevaluate my priorities is a worthwhile exercise to do regularly, regardless of whether I’m feeling like I’m drowining or surfing with vigor. As much as I wish I would remember to do it before I get to the drowning stage, I’m grateful I’m good at treading water.

Good health and great happiness to you.

Leave a Reply

