Looking Back/Looking Ahead

Baby Rosa is one month old today. I’ve enjoyed the past four weeks, filled with recouperting, nursing, and cuddling. If I had to give myself a grade for my behavior the last four weeks, I’m proud to say I was an “A” student. Bed rest and low activity are not things that come naturally for me, but I could tell my body really needed the time to heal. And who doesn’t want to nap when you have a warm lump of baby snoozing on your chest? But I’m starting to get antsy about all this rest.

Last weekend, my family and I went hiking at Wild Basin for an hour. It was by far the most active I’ve been since giving birth. I couldn’t believe how tired I was at the end of our hike. It was a good reminder that I can’t jump back into my regular fitness program without some dedicated effort. I have started fitness walking again this week, and my plan is to begin a walk-run routine this weekend.

Last night I completed my first strength workout in four weeks. It was an upper body workout– using resistance tubes and dumbbells–and it was exhausting. In a workout where I normally do sets of 15 repetitions, I was fading by 9 or 10. The good news is that now I have a benchmark for where to start my postpartum programs.

Like most people, including my clients, I need a goal. In an effort to be realistic about the amount of time I have to dedicate to my fitness program, I am going to set toeing the line at the Congress Avenue Mile on May 21st as my first measurable goal. Training for this race requires intense effort, but it does not require long runs. The interval training and core strength necessary for running a quality mile are both in line with what my postpartum body needs. I’d love to think that I could match or better last year’s time (6.30) with good, consistent training, but I’m going to hold off for another few weeks before I make too bold of a prediction.

What is your goal for the spring?

Leave a Reply

