Family Fitness Traditions

I’ve blogged here multiple times about how I grew up in an active family. I’ve also blogged about activities my husband and I like to do with our kids. I was recently featured in the Austin American Statesman about my family tradition of running. It’s a short article that gets to the heart of how just one fitness-minded person can influence lots of people over several generations.

I’m grateful to my parents for having instilled in me a sense that health and wellness are not just important for my physical body but that living an active life is a way to build relationships and community. I can only hope that my kids see how much their dad and I enjoy running (and hiking and exploring and…) and build a life-long appreciation for fitness.

Leave a Reply

