Reflections on the Autumnal Equinox

Here it is, the great day in September where our day and night are of equal length. It’s a day of reflection for me, as I like to use the equinox to reflect on how I use my time.

For someone task-oriented, I spend a lot of time thinking about how I can be (or have been) most efficent. I need to make sure, though, that effeciency isn’t the main motivation for my actions. Am I staying true to who I am and what I want to achieve? Have my actions throughout the summer led me to expect a rich harvest this fall? Whether this question is answered in a weight-loss goal, 5K race time, number of nutritious meals eaten together as a family, or some other way is immaterial. It’s power is in the way the question and answer reflects conscious positive action.

In addition to thinking about what I have done, I also find value in thinking about all of those things I thought I was going to do but just haven’t gotten around to yet. Are there tasks or even goals that I just need to let go of? What is bogging me down? How have my priorities shifted this summer? (For me? Oh, yes!) What can I do to create new goals better in line with my new priorities?

The answers to all of these questions can be used to set goals and lay out a plan of action for the autumn. For those of you who live in Austin or another hot climate, embrace the cooler weather of autumn and think about all of the wonderful outdoor activities that can be sprinkled into the next few months.

I think it’s valid not only to consider how we use our waking time but also to evaluate the quality of our resting time. Am I getting enough sleep? Is it quality sleep? Is there such a thing as quality sleep once you have children?

In all seriousness, the quality of one’s sleep and its link to overall health and wellness has been well documented. Create a bedtime ritual for yourself– just like you ensure your children have– if you find it easier to stay up late and do just-one-more-thing that cheats you out of some much needed sleep. You’ll likely reap benefits such as a strong immune system, quicker recovery from tough workouts, and a more patient temperament.

Good health and great happiness to you this autumn!

One response to “Reflections on the Autumnal Equinox

  1. Going camping this weekend to take advantage of the cooler weather. Just hope it doesn’t rain.

    Good health and happiness to you, too.

Leave a Reply

