On the Road

Pardon the near radio silence from me, but I’ve been on the road for the last two weeks. My family has chosen to take a sabbatical this summer. We have started our family time together in Europe, spending time with relatives in Italy and friends in our former home London. Travelling with children (aged not-quite seven and not-quite four) has its challenges, but the rewards are so great. And although our sabbatical is designed to give us a lot of time together, fitting in time for ourselves is also a key element to keeping everyone happy.

Obviously, staying fit while travelling is a priority for me. My running shoes go where I go, and I have few greater loves than running in London. It makes my soul happy in a way that makes me unequivocally grateful to be alive. Running in new cities is a great way to explore, and most concierges or B&B proprietors are happy to suggest safe routes. When it’s impossible to take turns for a run, my husband and I do a short circuit workout (like the one I posted quickly last week) for 15-20 minutes. It’s also an easy practice to do 25 pushups first thing in the morning and last thing before bed; this strategy gave me sufficient upper body strength to handle the serious gelato eating I did in Italy. Not bad for two minutes of work per day!

I appreciate the lifestyle fitness that comes with a walking culture. Add in the far-greater-than-normal amount of stair-climbing I’ve done lately (how is it that every place we’ve stayed has been on the top floor of a building without an elevator?), and I’m feeling pretty good about my fitness. It certainly doesn’t hurt that I’m carrying a Mom Bag that weighs about 8 pounds everywhere I go. Carrying the bag up every bell tower, church dome, and high-point vista serves as a good reminder that I don’t want to be 8 pounds heavier! One of the essential items in the Mom Bag is a Gertie Ball, which can be quickly inflated with a small straw if we find a place to have a little family kick around (and then deflated and tucked back into the bag when it’s time to move on). I’m grateful that my kids are so keen to walk and explore, but I admit to leaving the quality high-intensity interval training of pigeon chasing to my boys.

Good health and great happiness to you.

Leave a Reply

