Four Weeks Down, Two to Go

I wish I could say it’s getting easier. Life without sugar just isn’t that sweet.

(Sorry, I couldn’t resist.)

After four weeks without eating refined sugar– and staying away from as much of the fake stuff as possible– I still get sugar cravings. I’m taking this as confirmation of my humanity.

Although the cravings haven’t disappeared like I thought they would, I see a lot of positive changes in my body:

1) Like I mentioned in my last post, not eating my beloved baked goods leaves a lot more room in my diet for fruits and vegetables. I’m totally rocking my 7-9 servings of fruits/vegetables per day. But I can tell that once I go back to eating sugar, this challenge will become much more challenging.

2) Better skin. As someone who has been acne-prone since puberty, I’m finding my skin much more stable since eliminating sugar from my diet. I’m going to have to see if this decrease in skin inflammation reverses when I add small amounts of sugar back to my diet.

3) Weight loss. This may be a real D’OH! response, but it’s true. And for someone whose weight fluctuates very little, even a few pounds is noticeable. Eating junk calories– even in small amounts– adds up over time. Conversely, not eating those junk calories takes off a little weight without adding additional exercise. It’s comforting that the math works out reliably that way.

4) I can’t make an iron-clad connection, but in the time that I have been sugar-free, eating loads of fruits and vegetables, and staying well hydrated, I am the only member of my family not to fall ill. I’m always keen on staying healthy.

I have two more weeks of this self-imposed no sugar challenge. Let it be known that at that time I am going on my first vacation with my husband sans kids in 6.5 years. We’re going on a cruise, and I intend to enjoy myself totally guilt- (not sugar-) free.

Good health and great happiness to you.

Leave a Reply

