Nutrition in the New Year

Here we are, more than two weeks in to the new year. How are you doing with your resolutions? Still going strong? Good for you!

At the beginning of the year, I gave myself a few challenges regarding nutrition. (They aren’t resolutions, as they are things that, though difficult, I should be doing anyway…thus “challenges.”) Before you all think, “Wait a minute. She’s a personal trainer! How can she need any challenges to improve her nutrition?” Trust me. We all have ways in which we can improve how we nourish our bodies.

My nutritional challenges are three-fold:
1) Drink at least 64 ounces of water a day, and drink it regularly throughout the day. I don’t have much trouble achieving the 64 ounce amount, but I have a habit of going pretty much all day with nothing to drink, and then pounding a ridiculous amount of water just as I go to bed. Obviously, this isn’t ideal for my overall body function, but it is particularly poor for my sleep.

2) Increase consumption of fruits and vegetables from 5-6 servings per day to 7-9 servings per day. Again, 5-6 fruits and vegetables per day is no problem for me. Getting up to 7-9 per day EVERY day requires planning and a willingness to add some prep time into my weekly post-shop schedule. It also requires me being faster to the fruit crisper drawer than my kids, both of whom are fantastic models of the recommended 7-9 servings a day. I am most grateful for the Texas Ruby Red grapefruit, which has become my evening snack. These luscious, juicy fruits are so amazingly tasty. Cheap, too.

3) No refined sugar. I have something to confess:

Hello, my name is Karen. I love sugar.

For me, no sugar means cold turkey. There is no middle ground for me. I either eat something or I don’t. Like many of the clients with whom I work, my willpower is no match for dark chocolate, ice cream, or baked goods. And there is the obvious benefit of not eating sugar— I’m much more inclined to eat fruit or even a sweet vegetable as a snack, thus helping me achieve challenge #2.

So, there you have it. While I eat quite healthfully and allow myself plenty of treats– and exercise enough to keep everything in check– I, like many people, went crazy during Christmastime. Even the two 50Ks I ran in three weeks each burnt only about a pound’s worth of calories. I needed to do something to regulate my body physically. So I set forth three challenges that are achievable. The first two I hope to keep achieving every day. The third is a six-week challenge, at which point I think my taste buds and my body will be reset, and I can go back to enjoying the occasional sugary treat with pleasure.

What are you nutritional goals for 2010? Are you challenging yourself? How can I help you succeed at your challenges?

Good health and great happiness to you.

Leave a Reply

