Just what I NIA’d

When I woke up this morning (at 2am, 3am, 4am, and then 5am for the day), I wasn’t convinced it was going to be a great day. I was a less-than-my-usually-cheery-self during my early morning workout class, which was especially unfortunate given the jungle-like humidity my group faced.  They were inspirational (and perspirational) in their dogged determination to complete the workout.

I dashed home after class, got my 6-year-old ready for first grade, then had a family walk to school. By the time I got home, I had just about 40 minutes before needing to take the 3-year-old to preschool. It was still before 8am, and I was exhausted!

I had the chance to come home after preschool drop-off and have a rare, unspoilt FOUR HOURS to myself. No clients. No husband working at home. Just me and my comfy green sofa.

But I also remembered that today is Dr. Deb Kern’s WILD Women Workout, and after going to only two sessions before, I realized that was just what I needed. Dr. Deb leads a group of women through a NIA workout filled with everything from tai chi moves to pilates poses to all-out cardio jam. Dancing unabashedly in a studio, about twenty women move around the room free from judgement and filled with conviction. The workout is all about connecting with your body, harnessing the power of your mind, and honoring the self.  

I left the workout feeling energized and hopeful.  Thank you, Dr. Deb!

Leave a Reply

