Finding your Mama tribe

Shortly after I moved to Austin with my husband and then 18-month old son, I embarked on the adventure of creating a life that would satisfy me and help my child to thrive.  I was blessed by finding the Mothers of Preschoolers (MOPS) group at St. Louis Catholic Church in Central Austin.  Not everyone in the group (including me) were members of St. Louis, and not everyone in the group was Catholic.  But we shared the common bond of motherhood and its especially intense challenges of being mostly stay-at-home moms to young children.  The women I met in this group became dear friends, and for more than two years I enjoyed their company, wisdom, and friendship.  I knew that once a week, I had a place to go (with babysitting provided!!) where I could be myself for two hours.

Although I haven’t participated in the group regularly for more than a year, I still see my friends on mom’s night outs and other celebratory occassions.  I was honored when they asked me to speak at their end-of-year Open House.  I am going to talk about “Functional Fitness for Busy Moms,” a topic that I know is relevant to my friends– and pretty much every other mom, too!  If you would like to join us and find out more about the group, the meeting is from 9.30-11.30 tomorrow, May 27th.  The group meets at St. Louis Catholic Church on Burnet Rd., just south of Anderson Ln.  Childcare is available free of charge in Wozniak Hall.  Just email me and let me know to look for you.  Open arms and hearts await.

Leave a Reply

