Crash! (Then burn)

I crashed my bicycle last Thursday.  I wish I could blame it solely on the 30-35mph wind gusts we were experiencing, but unfortunately some bad judgement is also to blame.  Thankfully I am not seriously injured.  I am scraped and bruised and not altogether well, but I am grateful to have walked away as easily as I did.

In continued bad judgement, I went ahead and ran the ZOOMA half marathon yesterday morning.   I held it together quite well until mile 10, where I could no longer ignore the crackly feeling in my ribs.  I guess they were trying to tell me how little they appreciated being slammed into a guardrail less than 48 hours before.  But I refuse to quit (notice a stubborn streak?) and finished the race.

I’m okay today.  Still bruised, still a bit gimpy.  My ego is suffering most right now.  I am going to have to cancel the triathlon training group I just promoted last week, as I feel I need time to focus on my recovery.  I want to give people my best when I coach them, and I don’t feel like I can do that right now.

One of the best things I have learned from being a distance runner is that you have good days and bad days….and you never know what kind of day it will be until you get out there and give it a try.   So I’m going to give my body a little break, and then I’ll keep lacing up my shoes and enjoying the scenery.

Leave a Reply

