Identifying balance

In the retrospective groove we’re in, today I’m thinking about balance.  Really, I’m always thinking about balance, but today I’m trying to quantify it, trying to make it more real and understandable.

On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being least satisfied and 10 being very satisfied, how would you rate the following areas of your life:

Physical Environment — my home 7, my work area 5

  • How can I complain?  I live in a nice house on a nice lot in a nice neighborhood.  I even like the design of everything.  But I am bothered by the general state of mess that stagnates in my house.  It concentrates in my work area (a desk built into a closet), thus the even lower score.  I’m not a clutterbug by nature, but working out of the house with a WAH husband and two young kids doesn’t lend to keeping a tidy house.

Career/Business– 5

  • I’m making good strides, but I’m far from satisfied.  There is so much more work to do to get my name out there, get working with people, and making this business beneficial for me and my clients.

Money– 8

  • Again, it’s hard to complain.  But having just a little bit extra means there’s not a worry for providing all of those ‘extras’ for my kids– gymnastics lessons, piano lessons, extensive travel.

Health–10

  • I am blessed with good health.  Granted, I am conscious of what I eat and diligent to exercise regularly, but I know that the greatest key to good health is out of my hands.

Fun & Recreation–7

  • In the first half of the year, I would have given myself a 4.  By the end of the year, I was grooving with the trapeze lessons and was reminded of how important fun really is. I also spend a lot of time doing general recreation-type things as part of my mom role and my coach role. Thus, the 7.

 
Personal Growth–8

  • Starting a business, sending my older child off to school, mastering sewing techniques, learning flying trapeze….it’s been a pretty good year for personal growth.  But the more time and attention I pay to my personal growth, the more goals I have.

Significant Other/Romance–9

  • I’d give it a 10, but there’s always room for improvement, isn’t there.  I’m very blessed by my husband.  Every day. 

Friends and Family–8

  • I gave this category a high mark because I’ve done a good job cultivating new friendships this year.  I’m fortunate to be surrounded by friends and have a relatively normal (pun intended) family.  My shortcoming is that I often don’t follow through on the emails or calls or letters I’d like to write to let people know I’m thinking of them and am grateful for them.

Moving into the new year, it seems I should devote my energies to my business and my home.  Having a place I enjoy working certainly can contribute to good things work-wise.  And, really, I need to follow through on meaningful communication with friends and family.  Because without them, does it all really matter anyway?

Leave a Reply

