Listening

Like most mothers, mine always told me that God gave us two ears and one mouth so we could listen more than we talk.  As a natural chatterbox, I didn’t like this line of thought very much.  Instead, I believed that God gave me a big brain and a big mouth so I could easily let people know what I though.  (Which, naturally, was always insightful, articulate, and–most important– right.)  But I’m rethinking what Mom told me.

I have spent the past several months plugging along in my business, doing what I want to do.  I teach group fitness classes for pregnant and postnatal women because, having been a highly fit pregnant woman, I noticed there really wasn’t anything out there available for someone looking for a moderate-intense workout.  And if there is one time in life I think wellness should take center stage, it’s pregnancy.  So, VOILA, pre/postnatal fitness classes combined my passions in a well-balanced way.

Alas, the market has been slow to respond.  I believe it is coming, but I haven’t had the take up I envisioned.

All the while, my friends and neighbors have been asking when I’m going to hold fitness classes for “regular” people.  I have politely explained that’s not really my market.  But in the last few weeks, I’ve had a lot of people ask.  I’m thinking maybe it’s the downturn in the economy, or maybe it’s people seeking out a new community, or maybe–just maybe– this is the message I’m supposed to be listening to and responding with action.

I’m choosing the latter.  Starting December 1st, I’ll be offering morning group fitness classes (a kinder, gentler ‘boot camp’, if you will) on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings.  We’ll be doing all kinds of cool circuit training exercises.  It will be a well-balanced morning, if you will.  And you can rest-assured I’ll be listening to what my participants have to say about them.

Good health and great happiness to you.

Leave a Reply

